Overweight Physically & Underweight Spiritually, Will you DARASH for Better?

Standard

I can honestly say that for the most part I have felt that I was UNDERWEIGHT spiritually and OVERWEIGHT physically yet, I definitely didn’t want to be UNDERWEIGHT physically either.  Everything in life requires BALANCE….absolutely E-V-E-R-Y-T-H-I-N-G This includes physically, emotionally and spiritually but Satan is going to do everything he can to keep balance from your life in those key areas.

Let me have you answer these questions about YOUR perceived spiritual condition:

  • Are you severely malnourished?
  • Are you moderately malnourished?
  • Are you mildly malnourished?
  • Are you adequately nourished?
  • Are you well nourished?

Now, after choosing the one that best fits you, how does that affect your physical health?

Matthew 6:33 reads, “But see first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.”  So that tells us that if we turn our craving to God, which strengthens our spiritual health then our physical and emotional health will surely follow.The great news, especially for those that feel like God doesn’t have time to improve them because they have been neglecting both Him and themselves is that…God loves you right where you are and it’s unconditional!  I  think that’s awesome info, that means that no matter that I’ve let myself get over 50 pounds over-weight, God still loves me is has His hand out to help me get into a new place in my life and this goes for YOU also.

So you may ask…where do I begin to get to this “new place?”

First, you go to your quiet place and talk to God by telling him you desire to be NOURISHED healthily then thank Him for answering your prayer (yes, I know it hasn’t happened yet, but you are thanking Him because you BELIEVE that He wants the best for you.  In Psalm 107:18 it reads…”They loathed all food and drew near to the gates of death.  Then they cried to the Lord in their trouble, and he saved them from their distress.  He sent forth his word and healed them; he rescued them from the grave.”

Then write down some goals that you desire to accomplish for yourself.  Be honest to yourself and post copies of that list on the bathroom mirror, on the refrigerator, on a sticky notepad to stick on the dashboard in your car, on your table next to your computer and anywhere else that would be helpful to remind you of your goals.  I’ve found that it helps me to remind myself of one my favorite bible verses, John 10:10…”The thief comes only to steal, kill and destroy; I have come that they (me) may have life and have it to the full (abundantly). So that means we are supposed to be enjoying our lives to the fullest and not being an accomplice to Satan in killing ourselves and destroying our health.

To get you started in the area of healthy eating which leads to the “new place” of weight loss I will give you 5 key things that you can change in your life RIGHT NOW.

  1. Add fish (omega-3)
  2. Increase fiber
  3. Exercise
  4. Reduce calories
  5. Increase nutrient-rich fruits and veggies (polyphenols)

*Increase fiber: Women 25 grams of fiber a day & Men 35 grams of fiber a day.  Fiber tells your body that you are “full” and helps you to not feel hungry.

Lastly, but not least, increase your water intake.  Water has a story all its own, but you can read my article titled, “Water, Do I have to Drink it?” by clicking Here.

I want you to “darash” [Hebrew: to seek, inquire, consult] TODAY to make your goals a reality.  Where are you going to begin?

 
***The prophets often used darash as they called on the people to make an about-face in living and instead “seek ye the Lord while He may be found…”***
One response »

  1. Pingback: TCWW FIT Winter Flyer | Diamond Fitness

Leave a Reply

